Home » Other » General » No Database Monitoring possible with ESL/EMB Licence?
No Database Monitoring possible with ESL/EMB Licence? [message #684924] Tue, 28 September 2021 02:04 Go to next message
jfro
Dear Community,

I am new in the oracle database field, I am orginally from the M$SQL border. Shocked
I am responsible for a Application that is tied to the Embedded Software Lizenz (ESL/EMB) by the software vendor.

We have the challenge that I expect to monitor Oracle stats like free Tablespace and so on. Especially we have to struggle with downtime that a are pro active avoidable with monitoring.

My problem is: Our Software vendor told me, that there were no options/granted access to use an monitoring system like Nagios or similar products.

1. Is that really true?
  2. Is there ANY chance to monitor a productive database stats for us as customer?
Best regards,
jfro
Re: No Database Monitoring possible with ESL/EMB Licence? [message #684925 is a reply to message #684924] Tue, 28 September 2021 02:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

You have many tools to monitor Oracle databases, including Nagios.
You can find some of them in our Freeware or Commercial products wiki pages.
In short, if you can connect to a database (with the appropriate privileges) then you can monitor it.

Re: No Database Monitoring possible with ESL/EMB Licence? [message #684926 is a reply to message #684924] Tue, 28 September 2021 03:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
You need to clarify with your supplier what licence you have. It is probably either an ASFU (Application Specific Full Use) licence or an ESL (Embedded Software Licence). See here,
https://www.orafaq.com/wiki/Oracle_licensing#Application_Specific_Full_Use_.28ASFU.29_Licensing
The key to this is as MC said:
Quote:
if you can connect to a database (with the appropriate privileges) then you can monitor it.